Manila Court orders arrest of Joma Sison, 37 other communist leaders

Manila Court orders arrest of Joma Sison, 37 other communist leaders

The Communist Party of the Philippines-New People’s Army (CPP-NPA) has been listed as a terrorist organization by not only here in the Philippines but also including in the following countries United States, European Union, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, and in New Zealand.

And the slow hand of justice is slowly catching up with them most especially to its founder who had himself exiled in the Netherlands.

Presiding Judge Thelma Bunyi-Medina, of the Regional Trial Court Branch 32 in Manila, issued the Warrant of Arrest dated August 28, 2019, against Communist Party of the Philippines founding chairperson Jose Maria “Joma” Sison aliases Joma, Armando Guerrero, Armando Liwanag, and his wife Juliet, former National Democratic Front of the Philippines (NDFP) peace negotiator, among others.

Mr. and Mrs Joma Sison
(photo credit to onwer)

This has something to do with the Inopacan massacre in Leyte, wherein hundreds of victims killed in a mass execution perpetrated by the New People’s Army (NPA) in the 1980s.

Also included in the arrest warrant are those charged with 15 counts of murder in connection with the Inopacan massacre, namely:

1.   Rodolfo Salas alias Ka Bilog -- former CPP chair who was arrested in 1886 and granted an amnesty in 1992 by former Pres. Fidel V. Ramos;
2.   Leo Velasco – NDFP consultant for the peace process; 
3.   Jose Luneta -- co-founder of Kabataang Makabayan and former CPP secretary general secretary; passed away in Germany on May 1, 2018;
4.   Geronimo Pasetes;
5.   Prudencio Calubid – NDFP peace consultant;
6.   Luis Jalandoni -- NDFP senior adviser;
7.   Sarmiento Eduardo – NDFP consultant;
8.   Francisco Pascual, Jr.;

9.   Mil Lominion;
10.                Fortunato Felicilda;
11.                Benjamin Beringel;
12.                Quirino Quinawayan;
13.                Fernando Rachel;
14.                Pecario Sonana;
15.                Jesus Solayao;
16.                Lino Salazar;

17.                Alfredo Taladro;
18.                Tito Gabar;
19.                Muco Lubong;
20.                Felix Dumali;
21.                Ciriaca Malimot;
22.                Luzviminda Orillo;
23.                Anselmo Balduhesa;
24.                Alfredo Mabingay;

25.                Bertino Oroza;
26.                Bonifacio Padoc;
27.                Rodrigo Paplona;
28.                Prescillono Beringel;
29.                Anastacio Dorias;
30.                Nick Ruiz;
31.                Sammy Labarda;
32.                Charlie Fortaliza;

33.                Luis Villena;
34.                Rolando Caballera;
35.                Donata Lumbrento; and
36.                Luz Abejo.

Last August 22, 2019, Judge Medina issued the arrest warrant, , after finding probable cause that the “accused committed the offense as charged in the amended information”.

No bail was recommended for the 38 accused.
Based from former rebels and victim’s relatives, the Inopacan massacre or mass purging, dubbed by the NPA as a “Oplan Venereal Disease”,  claimed the lives of about 300 residents in Leyte province.
Last August 28, 2006, skeletal remains of 67 victims were exhumed from shallow graves in Subang Daku village, Inopacan town, Leyte.

What can you say about the article?

Share us your thoughts by simply leaving on the comment section below. For more news updates, feel free to visit our site often.

Stay updated with today's relevant news and trends by hitting the LIKE button.

Thanks for dropping by and reading this post.

Report from PNA

Post a Comment