DILG Sec. Año summons 108 mayors for failure to submit solid waste plans

DILG Sec. Año summons 108 mayors for failure to submit solid waste plans

The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG)is flexing its muscles to make it known that it is damn serious in the compliance environmental laws for protection of the environment and not just limited to the clean up drive of the Manila Bay. 
DILG  has just issued show cause orders against 18 local chief executives over their failure to craft a 10-year solid waste management plan as mandated by law.
DILG Secretary Eduardo Año (photo credit to owner)

The show cause orders is part of the executive government’s enforcement of existing environmental laws similar to what they did in Manila Bay and Boracay island.
"We don't want another case of Manila Bay. These LGUs have, unfortunately, been accustomed to leniency. The Solid Waste Management Plan is a requirement of law, yet for many years they ignored it. Hence, we have no recourse but to issue show cause orders to them,” Interior Secretary Eduardo Año said in a prepared statement.
Local chief executives are given 10 days from receipt of the order to explain why they should not be charged over failure of their LGUs to comply with such policy.
"If we are serious about protecting the environment, we really have to follow through with the implementation of these laws. Matagal nang nariyan ang mga batas ngunit kulang sa ngipin at implementasyon kaya patuloy tayong nagkakaron ng problema tulad ng (The laws have long been enacted but they lack implementation so we continue to have problems like what happened in) Boracay (and) Manila Bay. The law is the law and we will implement it," the DILG Sec. said.
Without naming the local chief executives, the DILG said of the 108 localities that will receive such order, 31 are from Lanao del Sur, 18 from Sulu, 11 from Maguindanao, nine each for Basilan and Tawi-Tawi, five from Mimaropa (Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, Palawan), eight from Bicol region, one from Western Visayas, and four each from Cagayan Valley, Calabarzon (Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal and Quezon), Central Visayas, and Eastern Visayas.
Section 16 of Republic Act No. 9003, also known as the Ecological Solid Waste Management Act of 2000, provides that all provinces, cities or municipalities, through their Local Solid Waste Management Boards, shall prepare their respective 10-Year Solid Waste Management Plans consistent with the National Solid Waste Management Framework and these are to be submitted to the National Solid Waste Management Commission. 

What can you say about this?

Share us your thoughts by simply leaving on the comment section below. For more news, updates, feel free to visit our site often.

Stay updated with today's relevant news and trends by hitting the LIKE button.

Thanks for dropping by and reading the post

Report from PNA

Post a Comment